Drips & Drapes

It took me a good 3 days to hang my drapes. The first time I put them up, it was to let those who were looking for a house that this one was taken. I unhang them on the second day because they didn’t seem to gather well. On the final day, the sheers really tested my patience. I was almost done when I realized the curtain box (had double rails) did not have enough runners and so I had to unhang the sheers, redistribute the runners and hang them up again. I was pretty tired by evening but a most satisfied girl.

It’s interesting the way execute things. We either teach ourselves to do them but mostly are taught by others how to do them. I, for one, spent many hours with my dad learning how to write my ‘Ts’ straight, covering my school books and wrapping gifts. I didn’t know it at that time but he was teaching me the importance of measurement in quality. And so don’t be surprised when you visit and find a handy-bag on the top of my fridge with a measuring tape, marker pen, notebook, a pair of scissors and some adhesive tape.

But that’s not all! The week I moved, I borrowed my pops tools so that I could fix any drips that come with a ‘new’ house. Dad, on many weekends, sent me running to the tool-shed (that all and sundry room) to bring him some misumaris, tupa, randa, nyundo or spana. In fact, I once short-circuited (not sure if this is a good word) trying to fix a lose socket; Papa was watching some football match at the time. I can’t forget the startled look on his face. I know he wished more that he had allowed me to watch the game with him…

___

* It’s my parents anniversary today and I celebrate them… They brought me up well… I bless God for them…

Leave a Reply

